What are 4 C's of Lab-Grown Diamonds?

 [Blog Banner]-[Ouros Jewels]


4C's are the method used to measure diamond quality for Natural & Lab-Grown diamonds. But if we talk about the past there was no particular method in the 20th century to judge a diamond quality. 4C's were firstly introduced by GIA (Gemological Institute Of America) which is now accepted globally as the standard diamond quality measurement tool by everyone in the world.
The 4C's are Color, Clarity, Cut & Carat of the diamond. Today 4C's are the universal method to check the quality of diamonds anywhere in the world. This is also important for customers because they can understand easily what exactly they are going to purchase. 

Let's start with the first C

1- COLOR (Diamond's Color)

One factor that determines the value of a diamond is its color. Except for Fancy-Colored Diamonds; the most valuable diamonds are those with the least color. Although many people think of gem-quality diamonds as colorless, completely colorless diamonds are very rare, the diamond color scale ranges from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown). A Diamond's color is determined by a manual process of comparing the diamond to a master set. Each letter grade represents a range of colors and is a measurement of how noticeable a color is.
When diamonds are formed with traces of other minerals, rare and beautiful colors can result. These "fancy" colors range from blue and brilliant yellow to red, brown, pale green, pink, and violet. Because of their rarity colored diamonds are highly desirable and typically more valuable.

[color grade chart]-[ouros jewels]

2- CLARITY (Diamond's Clarity)

A diamond's clarity is measured by the existence or absence of visible flaws. Tiny surface blemishes or internal inclusions, even those seen only under, magnification can alter the brilliance of the diamond and thus affect its value. Clarity levels begin with flawless (FL, IF), followed by very very slight (VVS1, VVS2), very slight (VS1, VS2), Slightly Included (SI1, SI2), and Included (I1, I2, I3).

[Diamond clarity chart]-[ouros jewels]

3- CUT (Diamond Cutting)

While cut does include shape, in terms of the 4C's it refers to the proportions of the cut. A diamond's cut grade is an objective measure of a diamond's light performance or the amount of diamond sparkle a diamond has.
A diamond's overall proportions as well as the size and position of its facets make up the cut. The consistency and balance of these can greatly affect how the stone captures light and reflect it to the eye. When a diamond is cut with the proper proportions, light enters the diamond is returned through the top of the diamond. If a diamond is too shallow, the light will escape from the bottom of the stone. If it is cut too deep, the light will escape out the sides.
Studies have been conducted to find the optimum proportions of a diamond's cut so that it has the greatest amount of sparkle. If its cut falls with those parameters, it is considered an ideal cut. Diamonds with fine proportions, symmetry, and polish optimize their interaction with light and have increased brilliance, dispersion, and scintillation.

[diamond cutting chart]-[ouros jewels]

4- CARAT (Diamond's Weight)

Carat refers to a diamond's weight. One carat, the traditional unit of measurement for diamonds, is approximately 0.2 grams. You may also hear the weight of diamonds referred to in points. One carat is equivalent to 100 points, so a 75-point diamond is equal to 0.75 carats. Because they are rarer, larger diamonds have a greater value per carat, so the price of a diamond rises exponentially to its size. . .


To receive offer emails and newsletters from OUROS JEWELS subscribe newsletter by putting your email below.


Explore more topics-
1- How to hold a diamond in a tweezer?
2- How to measure ring size at home?
3- Difference between lab-grown and simulant diamond.